The Gilmore Project

Lessons learned from The Gilmore Girls.

Get Ready, Get Set: National Novel Writing Month

For many of you Halloween may mean trick-or-treating, but to those signed up for National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) it means it’s time to get your motors running.  The goal of this annual event is simple: write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days (1 Nov – 30 Nov).  This means no editing and no formatting, just pure writing.  Does the novel have to be the next great work of literature?  Definitely not.  The point is that by the time you reach December, you’ll have written a novel.  One of the most intimidating things about trying to write is actually getting it done.  Those who have completed their 30 day challenge have a major leg up on that fear.  Plus, it has been shown that a key to developing any habit is to attempt it continuously for short periods of time (i.e. 30 days).  So who knows?  Maybe the idea of writing every day will stick for you.

I first heard of this event in 1997 when I received my first Writer’s Digest magazine, and I have always wanted to complete it.  In fact, it’s on my bucket list (yes, I keep a massive bucket list file).  Every year I talk the talk and either get too busy or completely forget by the time November comes around.  I haven’t even gotten far enough to attempt it so far.  So this year I’m making the commitment to attempt the challenge.  While normally I believe fully in giving your all to everything you attempt, I have to be a realist here and acknowledge that I’m a month away from finishing graduate school.  But I have no reason why I can’t give it a shot this year.  And here’s the beauty of it: while I may not finish this year, I will be that much more motivated to get further next year.  So my goal is to get as far into this novel as I can.  To put a number on it, I’ll say 30,000 words.

To keep myself honest, I’ll try to post word count updates as I go.  If you’re signed up for NaNoWriMo as well, comment below!  I’d love to hear your progress 🙂  Good luck!

 

3 Comments

  1. I’m new to it and very excited. Where do we find the word count goals? No editing? I didn’t know that, I like that. Then you can just fly. I’ll post my word count each day on my blog as well. Thanks for the post!

    • This is my first year attempting it as well. The general word count goal for everyone is 50,000. I just gave myself a goal of 30,000 because I need to remember my priority of graduating lol. To update your word count on the site go to the “Edit Novel” section. Good luck! Can’t wait to hear your progress!

Trackbacks

  1. Are You Ready? « difficult degrees

Leave a Reply

